It’s not always easy -epilogue-

Field Burning #1, Acrylic on linen, 24" x 36", 2012

Moments before I was about to wire and hang this painting, I realize that I wasn’t finished. Darn it anyway but those trees just aren’t doing it for me. They are way to flat and monochromatic. I decided I had to add some depth, even if it was just a light glaze of naples, burnt sienna and crimson. Also, the smoke surrounding the trees needed another layer of the lighter cream grey to make it more uniform with the rest of the clouds and offset the more complicated forms of the trees. The finishing touches took about an hour and a half to complete and now I really feel satisfied that this painting is finished.

Detail of tree and cloud area

2 thoughts on “It’s not always easy -epilogue-”

Leave a Reply

